Grand Prix Winners and Recent Results

Home > News > Grand Prix Winners and Recent Results

Winners of the Essex Grand Prix titles for 2014/15 are as follows –

Under 9 – Zahra Jaufarally

Under 11 – Aditya Verma

Under 11 Girl – Nadia Jaufarally

Under 14 – Elliot Cocks

Under 18 – Angelo Cassar 

Congratulations to them all and to others who scored well throughout the series of events.  There were also trophies awarded to players who had taken part in every Grand Prix (photo below).

Full details of the final tables can be found on this website under Results/Tournaments/Grand Prix

UK Chess Challenge

There were over 50 players from Essex who took part in the recent Gigafinals and from these we are delighted to report that the following players scored well enough to proceed to the next stage.

Qualifiers for Terafinal -

Anum Sheikh - Ultima u9 Girls

Aditya Verma - Ultimo u11 Boys

Nadia Jaufarally - Ultima u11 Girls

Qualifiers for Challengers Event at the Terafinal -

Shlok Verma - 2nd u7 Boys

Tristan Bromelow - 2nd u8 Boys

Urbi Modhura - 3rd u11 Girls

Sarah Weersing - 2nd u12 Girls

Naomi Wei 2nd u15 Girls

The following players were also Plate winners in their respective sections, just missing out on the top prizes -

u7 Girl - Zoe Johnson; u9 Boys - Lui Michael Papena, Giulio Sahinoz & Fraser Caves; u9 Girls - Abigail Weersing; u10 Boys - Toby Deakin, Scott Deakin & Dio Arman Papena; u11 Boys - Aadarsh Saravanan, Roland Cheben & Cameron Parish; u11 - Girls Arizona Foakes & Emmy Kilcline; u13 Boys - Elliot Cocks

Essex Rapidplay – Writtle, 11 July 2015

There were several juniors who took part in this event which was open to all Essex players, both juniors and adults.

Elliot Cocks came equal first in the under 160 section and was also awarded the Essex Junior Championship.

The under 120 section was won by Ben Bishop with Leonardo Stefanoni coming joint second.

Further information please see